Councillors and committees

Councillors and committees

East Hampshire District Council is made up of 44 councillors elected every four years. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their ward.

The overriding duty of councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them.

All councillors meet together for full council meetings six times a year. These are held in public, and are used to decide the council's overall policies and set the budget each year.

How decisions are made

EHDC runs on a 'leader and cabinet' model. This works in the same way as the Prime Minister and cabinet but on a local scale. The political party which has had the most councillors elected by the public forms the cabinet, and elects one of its members as the leader.

This model was adopted in East Hampshire after the Local Government Act 2000. Following consultation with local people, 84% of respondents felt EHDC should introduce a leader and cabinet model, and it was adopted in June 2001.


The cabinet makes collected policy decisions for the council. 

Each cabinet member is responsible for an area of the council's work, known as portfolios.  The current portfolio holders are:

  • Cllr Richard Millard - Leader and Strategic Commissioning and Property Portfolio
  • Cllr Julie Butler - Deputy Leader and Welfare and Communities Portfolio
  • Cllr Ferris Cowper - Whitehill & Bordon 
  • Cllr Guy Shepherd - Finance 
  • Cllr Nick Drew - Governance and Organisational Development
  • Cllr Angela Glass - Planning 
  • Cllr Glynis Watts – Economy and Placemaking 
  • Cllr Ingrid Thomas – Neighbourhood Services 
  • Cllr Ben Bentley - Cabinet member without portfolio
  • Cllr Bill Mouland - Cabinet member without portfolio

The cabinet will be advised and supported in its policy formulation role by panels with particular areas of responsibility and encompassing a broad range of opinion and expertise. In addition it is advised by a number of committees.

The cabinet has to make decisions which are in line with the council's overall policies and budget. If it wishes to make a decision which is outside the budget or policy framework, this must be referred to the council as a whole to decide.

Chairman of the council

The first council meeting of the year (held in May) is devoted largely to appointing the council Chairman (currently Cllr Anthony Williams) and Vice Chairman (Cllr Keith Budden) and agreeing membership of committees and council representatives on outside bodies.

MP for East Hampshire

Damian Hinds was first elected in 2010 as the MP for East Hampshire, and was re-elected in May 2015 and again in June 2017

He is committed to working hard to support the many excellent East Hampshire businesses, charities and organisations.