Welcome to East Hampshire! 

You can translate this page into another language by clicking the orange ‘speak’ symbol at the top-right of the page.

About East Hampshire

East Hampshire is an economically successful area at the heart of South East England. Its assets include quality housing, first class schools, active communities, good health facilities, a diverse range of leisure and recreational opportunities, and the beautiful countryside of the South Downs.

You won’t need to go far to find steep wooded hills and hidden valleys, picture-perfect villages, and peaceful market towns. There are many things to see and do in the area.

Find out more about the district.

You can find a lot of useful local information on local NHS services, libraries, bin collections, planning applications and more on our ‘where I live’ area.

About East Hampshire District Council (EHDC)

In East Hampshire, there are three tiers of local government.

57% of East Hampshire is in the South Downs National Park. The South Downs National Park Authority is responsible for keeping the South Downs a special place. It is also the planning authority for the National Park.

We have 43 councillors who represent the interests of the residents of their ward.

You’ll need to register to vote if you want to vote in an election. 

What we do

Services EHDC is responsible for include:

A key difference to most council areas is that our recycling bins are black, and our waste bins are green.

Stay up to date

In order to stay up-to-date on what’s happening in the district – news, bin collection and business updates and more – you can sign up to email bulletins.

We’re also on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and LinkedIn.

Find other ways to contact us.